Christmas at Graceland - Christmas at Elvis' home

Michael
Michael

This is how Elvis celebrates Christmas at Graceland!

After London, New York and Los Angeles, it's off to Memphis Tennessee just before Christmas on the 4th Advent today. We visit Graceland again and see how the “King” celebrated Christmas.

Here you can learn a lot about the Christmas traditions at Graceland, which still exist today.

Chapter 01 - Our (crazy) trip to Graceland

Since we were too late to book a domestic flight from New York to Memphis and back again (it would have been almost as expensive as the transatlantic flight at the time), we decided to take a car… The whole crazy story is now exclusive here 🙂

Yes, getting a domestic flight at short notice is a difficult endeavor. Getting anything under $ 600 per person was absolutely out of the question, so inventiveness was required. Our route New York City -> Memphis / Tennessee should be an adventure and that in one day. Since we still wanted to go to a friend in Saint Louis anyway, we didn't have to spend a day in another hotel, because we didn't have the hotel until January 2nd. booked.

Quickly (supposedly all) states we have to drive through for offline navigation, packed on our mobile phone and off we go.

After the New Year's Eve cruise, which we will report on later, we went to the hotel, 3 or 4 hours of sleep and at 5:00 a.m. to La Guardia airport where our booked rental car from Budget was waiting. At $ 350 it was definitely a bargain compared to a flight.

Then the journey began, first through the actually quite quiet NYC, New Yersey, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and finally to Saint Louis in Missouri. Usually a drive of 15 hours and around 1,000 miles, but what is normal.

Unfortunately, I didn't take two things into account. 1. The route is almost entirely via toll roads, which we actually wanted to avoid. But this led to the second problem, because the journey should take us for a few miles through the state of West Virginia. Just stupid that I just hadn't downloaded this state.

Well, what can I say after about 20 hours of driving and a few liters of cold water on our faces, we were finally at our destination.

A few hours later we were back “on the road” to Graceland, where we actually arrived safely with our good friend from Saint Louis. Then it went first ... not to bed, but straight on. After a few hours Elvis, then to Memphis to Beale Street to try delicious southern cuisine and then finally to bed.

So my tip: If you want to take on such a route, then definitely with a stop in the middle, which we did on the way back to Newark 😉

Chapter 02 - Christmas traditions in the Presley home

Elvis loved the Christmas season more than anything and that's exactly what you can see when you drive past the house.

Inside it looks a bit more like Christmas, because there is a Christmas tree in every room. These are still decorated by hand today. The design of the trees is different every year, so you can almost see on photos which were taken in the same year. Not only the design of the trees, no, the location changes every year.

In each of the rooms you not only feel the spirit of Elvis, but also the spirit of Christmas from the end of November to January 8th (Elvis' birthday).

If you have not yet visited Graceland, you should definitely do it, because even if you are not an Elvis fan. A really great experience to be here!

Chapter 03 - The whole area shines in full Christmas splendor

Everything you see here in terms of decorations, Elvis bought himself and had it put up every year.

The road to the property, which leads through its “front garden”, is lined with light blue lights, there are 8 small Christmas trees on the house that are illuminated in red at night. On the left side you can see Santa with his reindeer sleigh and the iconic writing “Merry Christmas to All - Elvis”. In the front area on the right side you can see the life-size crib that he had set up for his family.

Elvis loved details, which is why you will not only find a lot of Christmassy in the house, but also all around.

Chapter 04 - A few tips at the end

Finally, there are of course a few insider tips from us.

First of all our hotel tip, which is really worth it! Diagonally across from Graceland is the "Days Inn at Graceland". We can really recommend this motel highly. The price-performance ratio is definitely unique. If you don't want to spend just one day there, you are in good hands here.

The gates to the house open early every morning (between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m.). The “Meditation Walk” is open to everyone in the off-season and it is free. You go through the large gate, past the crib, directly to the Meditation Garden. In fact, there are only a few people here at that time, a place of peace and contemplation.

 

We wish To you a beautiful
4. Advent

Christmas at Graceland - Weihnachten bei Elvis zu Hause

Sharing is caring

make your friends happy and share this post :-)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
0 0 rating
Did you enjoy this post?
Subscribe to
Notify me at
0 Comments
Inline feedback
Show all comments
0
Do you like it or do you have a question? Use the comment function!x
()
x

Christmas at Graceland – Weihnachten bei Elvis zu Hause

Michael
Michael

So feiert(e) Elvis Christmas at Graceland!

Nach London, New York und Los Angeles, geht es heute so kurz vor Weihnachten am 4. Advent nach Memphis Tennessee. Wir besuchen nochmal Graceland und schauen uns an, wie der “King” Weihnachten feierte.

Hier erfahrt ihr einiges über die Weihnachtstraditionen auf Graceland, die es auch noch heute gibt.

Kapitel 01   - Unsere (irre) Fahrt nach Graceland

Da wir zu spät dran waren uns einen Inlandsflug von New York nach Memphis und wieder zurück zu buchen (der wäre damals fast so teuer gewesen wie der Transatlantik Flug), haben wir uns für eine Fahrt mit dem Auto entschieden… Die ganze irre Story jetzt exklusiv hier 🙂

Ja, kurzfristig einen Inlandsflug zu bekommen ist ein schwieriges Unterfangen. Etwas unter 600 Dollar pro Person zu bekommen war absolut nicht drin, also war Erfindungsgeist gefragt. Unsere Strecke New York City -> Memphis / Tennessee sollte also ein Abenteuer werden und das an einem Tag. Da wir sowieso noch zu einer Freundin nach Saint Louis wollten, mussten wir auch keinen Tag in einem anderen Hotel überbrücken, denn das Hotel haben wir auch erst für den 02.01. gebucht.

Schnell noch (vermeintlich alle) Bundesstaaten durch die wir fahren müssen für die Offline Navigation aufs Handy gepackt und los.

Nach der Silvester Cruise, über die wir noch berichten werden, ging es kurz ins Hotel, 3 oder 4 Stunden schlafen und um 5:00 Uhr zum Flughafen La Guardia wo unser gebuchter Mietwagen von Budget wartete. Der war mit 350 Dollar gegenüber einem Flug definitiv ein Schnäppchen.

Danach begann die Fahrt, zuerst durch das tatsächlich recht ruhige NYC, New Yersey, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois und schließlich nach Saint Louis in Missouri. Im Normalfall eine Fahrt von 15 Stunden und rund 1.000 Meilen, aber was ist schon normal.

Leider habe ich 2 Dinge nicht mit einkalkuliert. 1. Die Strecke geht fast nur über Mautstraßen, die wir ja eigentlich vermeiden wollten. Dadurch kam es aber zum 2. Problem, denn die Fahrt sollte uns für wenige Meilen durch den Bundesstaat West Virginia führen. Blöd nur das ich gerade diesen Bundesstaat nicht herunter geladen hatte.

Nun ja, was soll ich sagen nach rund 20 Stunden Fahrt und einigen Litern kaltem Wasser im Gesicht, waren wir dann endlich an unserem Ziel.

Einige Stunden später waren wir wieder “on the Road” nach Graceland, wo wir dann tatsächlich zusammen mit unserer guten Freundin aus Saint Louis heil angekommen sind. Danach ging es dann erstmal… nicht ins Bett, sondern direkt weiter. Nach einigen Stunden Elvis, dann noch nach Memphis zur Beale Street leckere Südstaatenküche probieren und danach denn endlich ins Bett.

Daher mein Tipp: Wenn man sich so eine Strecke zumuten will, dann auf jeden Fall mit einem Zwischenstopp in der Mitte, was wir dann auch auf der Rückfahrt nach Newark taten 😉

Kapitel 02   - Weihnachtstraditionen im Hause Presley

Elvis liebte die Weihnachtszeit über alles und genau das sieht man auch, wenn man schon am Haus vorbei fährt.

Drinnen sieht es dann nochmal ein stück mehr nach Weihnachten aus, denn es gibt in jedem Zimmer einen Weihnachtsbaum. Diese werden auch heute noch von Hand geschmückt. Die Gestaltung der Bäume ist in jedem Jahr anders, so kann man fast schon auf Fotos erkennen welche im gleichen Jahr gemacht wurden. Nicht nur die Gestaltung der Bäume, nein auch der Standort verändert sich in jedem Jahr.

In jedem der Räume verspürt man nicht nur den Geist von Elvis, sondern in der Zeit von Ende November bis zum 08. Januar (Elvis’ Geburtstag) auch den Geist der Weihnacht.

Wer Graceland noch nicht besucht hat, soll es auf jeden Fall tun, denn auch wenn man kein Elvis Fan ist. Eine echt tolle Erfahrung hier zu sein!

Kapitel 03   - Das ganze Gelände erstrahlt in voller Weihnachtspracht

Alles was man hier an Dekorationen sieht, hat Elvis noch selbst gekauft und in jedem Jahr aufstellen lassen.

Die Straße zum Anwesen, die durch seinen “Vorgarten” führt wird gesäumt von hellblauen Lichtern, am Haus stehen 8 kleine Weihnachtsbäume die in der Nacht rot beleuchtet sin. Auf der Linken Seite sieht man Santa mit seinem Rentierschlitten und dem ikonischen Schriftzug “Merry Christmas to All – Elvis”. Im vorderen Bereich auf der rechten Seite sieht man die Lebensgroße Krippe, die er für seine Familie aufstellen ließ.

Elvis liebte Details, deshalb findet man nicht nur im Haus, sondern auch rundherum viel weihnachtliches.

Kapitel 04   - Ein paar Tipps zum Schluss

Zum Abschluss gibt es natürlich noch ein paar Insider Tipps von uns.

Als erstes unser Hotel Tipp, der sich echt lohnt! Schräg Gegenüber von Graceland, befindet sich das “Days Inn at Graceland“. Wir können dieses Motel wirklich wärmstens empfehlen. Das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis ist auf jeden Fall einzigartig. Wer nicht nur einen Tag dort verbringen möchte ist hier bestens aufgehoben.

Jeden Morgen öffnen sich in der Frühe (zwischen 07:00 Uhr und 09:00 Uhr) die Tore zum Haus. Der “Meditation Walk” wird in der Nebensaison für alle geöffnet und zwar kostenlos. Man geht durch das große Tor, an der Krippe vorbei direkt zum Meditation Garden. In der Zeit befinden sich tatsächlich nur wenige Menschen hier, ein Ort der Ruhe und Besinnung.

 

Wir wünschen Euch einen schönen
4. Advent

Christmas at Graceland - Weihnachten bei Elvis zu Hause

Sharing is caring

macht Euren Freunden eine Freude und teilt diesen Beitrag :-)

Auf facebook teilen
Auf twitter teilen
Auf pinterest teilen
Auf whatsapp teilen
Auf email teilen
0 0 Bewertung
Hat Dir dieser Beitrag gefallen?
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
0 Kommentare
Inline Feedbacks
Zeige alle Kommentare
0
Dir gefällts oder Du hast na Frage? Nutze die Kommentar Funktion!x
()
x