Christmas in Los Angeles - Christmas in your swimming trunks?

Michael
Michael

33 ° C in November? - This is "Christmas in Los Angeles"

Spend the pre-Christmas period in a different place than in cold Germany?
We dared to fly to Los Angeles in November (2016) to see how the Christmas season started in California.

At 33 ° Celsius (!) There is more summer than Christmas mood, but there is the American, or rather “Californian way of Christmas Life” 🙂

Chapter 01 - Worldwide candle lightning

Before we start with the lights in pre-Christmas Los Angeles, something more serious about today, the Worldwide Candle Lightning.

What is it actually and what is actually being celebrated on this special day?

The idea goes back to the association “Compassionate Friends” in the USA, an association of orphaned parents and their relatives. This initiative was launched in 1996.

The name of Worldwide Candle Lighting is based on the worldwide ritual lighting of a candle for the deceased child at 7:00 p.m. on the 2nd Sunday in December. This candle is placed on a window so that it is visible from the outside. The hourly shift in the different time zones creates a visual wave of light that wanders around the entire earth once every 24 hours. “… That their light may always shine” (“… let their light shine forever”) is the basic idea behind this idea.


- Source Wikipedia -

Chapter 02 - Christmas shopping in Los Angeles

The pre-Christmas season in the USA is very commercial and also has a lot to do with shopping. In Los Angeles there are the “Christmas palms” festively adorned with thick red ribbons and lots of lights.

Let's start with our first photo. It was made in the Beverly Center in Beverly Hills. Doesn't it show Christmas, which you probably already know from many films? - That Santa Claus noticed us was more lucky than imagined, because it wasn't planned 😉

Next stop, our favorite place in Hollywood, the “Hollywood & Highland” Shopping Center. No other place in LA can do that - a Christmas tree with the Hollywood Sign in the background! Otherwise, this center is always well attended and beautifully lit at Christmas time. We can only recommend you to visit Los Angeles during this time!

Our shopping tour continues to “The Grove” in the La Brea district south of Hollywood. The shopping center, which is right next to the famous Farmers Market, offers many beautiful Christmas impressions with Santa's house, a huge Christmas tree and much more. Unfortunately, the lighting was only turned on on the evening of our day of departure - maybe next time!

Finally, it goes to the south of Los Angeles, the suburb of Montebello to the Citadel Outlet Center. Here is the largest Christmas tree in the world (as of 2016).

It is actually only a single tree that has been erected here. In Dortmund, where the city has the largest Christmas tree, the tree consists of many individual trees that are combined to form a total work of art. Nice too, but not just a single tree like here.

Even at night it is unique here, the large Christmas tree balls, the illuminated Christmas tree and the entire center, which looks like stacked gifts with a huge bow - only available in the USA!

 

Chapter 03 - The pre-Christmas season in Long Beach

Since we had never made it to the lower tip of Los Angeles before, we went to Long Beach. The plan was to visit the Queen Marry, a luxury steamer of the last century, which is now anchored there as a museum and hotel.

Then it went to the other side of the Los Angeles River, which is quite wide here, directly to Long Beach. If you drive around you will find some beautiful Christmas houses near the beach and the canal, as you can certainly see on the pictures.

Of course we also spent a day on the beach, why not, with the summer temperatures 😉

Chapter 04 - A little more culture at the end

Okay, even if it doesn't quite fit, we still have some culture in the program.

Near the LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art) is the famous “Urban Light”, an outdoor sculpture. There are 202 historical street lamps from the 20s and 30s sorted by size. The lanterns do not come from anywhere, but were previously in Los Angeles itself.

A very special border, especially in the evening and at night when the space is empty.

If you walk a little further along the street, you will find something that is quite familiar and at the same time strange to the place. A real section of the Berlin Wall stands in front of a skyscraper that is home to the Sundance Institute and the Creative Circle.

The 10 original segments were created in 2009 on behalf of "Wende Museum of the Cold War" in Culver City, Los Angeles designed by artists who have also worked on the famous East Side Gallery. The aim was to bring a piece of the twin city Berlin to Los Angeles and to keep the memory of November 9th, 1989 alive.

We wish To you a beautiful
3. Advent and Worldwide Candle Lightning

Even with summer temperatures, the Christmas spirit can arise, especially with the splendor of Christmas trees and lights.

Finally, Santa Claus flies through Beverly Hills again!

Kontraste - Der Weihnachtsmann fliegt über Beverly Hills - Das ist Christmas in Los Angeles!

Sharing is caring

make your friends happy and share this post :-)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
0 0 rating
Did you enjoy this post?
Subscribe to
Notify me at
0 Comments
Inline feedback
Show all comments
0
Do you like it or do you have a question? Use the comment function!x
()
x

Christmas in Los Angeles – Weihnachten in der Badehose?

Michael
Michael

33°C im November?  –  Das ist “Christmas in Los Angeles”

Die Vorweihnachtszeit mal an einem anderen Ort verbringen als im kalten Deutschland?
Wir haben es gewagt im November (2016) nach Los Angeles zu fliegen um mal zu sehen wie in Kalifornien die Weihnachtszeit eingeläutet wird.

Bei 33° Celsius(!) kommt erstmal mehr Sommer- als Weihnachtsstimmung auf, aber da gibt es ihn, den American, oder besser “Californian way of Christmas Life” 🙂

Kapitel 01   - Worldwide Candle Lightning

Bevor wir mit den Lichtern in Vor-Weihnachtlichen Los Angeles beginnen, noch etwas ernsteres zum heutigen Tag, dem Worldwide Candle Lightning.

Was ist das eigentlich und was wird an diesem speziellen Tag eigentlich “gefeiert?

Die Idee geht auf die Vereinigung “Compassionate Friends” in den USA zurück, einer Vereinigung verwaister Eltern und ihrer Angehörigen. Diese Initiative wurde im Jahr 1996 ins Leben gerufen.

Der Name des Worldwide Candle Lighting beruht auf dem weltweiten rituellen Anzünden einer Kerze für das verstorbene Kind um 19.00 Uhr des 2. Sonntags im Dezember. Diese Kerze wird von außen sichtbar an einem Fenster platziert. Durch die stündliche Verschiebung in den unterschiedlichen Zeitzonen ergibt sich bildlich eine Lichterwelle, die in 24 Stunden einmal um die ganze Erde wandert. “…that their light may always shine” (“…lasst ihr Licht auf immer scheinen”) ist der Grundgedanke hinter dieser Idee.


– Quelle Wikipedia –

Kapitel 02   - Christmas Shopping in Los Angeles

Die Vorweihnachtszeit in den USA, ist sehr kommerziell und hat auch viel mit Shopping zu tun. In Los Angeles gibt es sie, die “Weihnachtspalmen” festlich geschmückt mit dicken roten Schleifen und vielen Lichtern.

Beginnen wir dochmal bei unserem ersten Foto. Es ist entstanden im Beverly Center in Beverly Hills. Zeigt es nicht das Weihnachten, was Ihr sicherlich aus vielen Filmen bereits kennt?  –  Das der Weihnachtsmann uns bemerkte war mehr Glück als gestellt, denn geplant war es nicht 😉

Nächster Stopp, unser Lieblingsort in Hollywood, das “Hollywood & Highland” Shopping Center. Kein anderer Ort in LA kann das bieten  –  Ein Weihnachtsbaum mit dem Hollywood Sign im Hintergrund! Auch sonst ist dieses Center zur Weihnachtszeit immer gut besucht und wunderschön beleuchtet. Wir können Euch nur empfehlen Los Angeles mal in dieser Zeit zu besuchen!

Weiter geht unsere Shopping Tour zu “The Grove” im Stadtteil La Brea südlich von Hollywood. Das direkt neben dem berühmten Farmers Market gelegene Einkaufszentrum bietet viele schöne Weihnachtsimpressionen mit dem Haus vom Weihnachtsmann einem riesigen Weihnachtsbaum und vielem mehr. Leider wurde die Beleuchtung erst am Abend unseres Abreisetags feierlich eingeschaltet  –  Vielleicht beim nächsten mal!

Zum Schluss geht es in den Süden von Los Angeles, dem Vorort  Montebello zum Citadel Outlet-Center. Hier steht der Größte Weihnachtsbaum der Welt (Stand 2016) .

Es ist tatsächlich nur ein einziger Baum, der hier aufgestellt wurde. In Dortmund, wo man sich als Stadt des größten Weihnachtsbaums aufspielt, besteht der Baum aus vielen einzelnen Bäumen die zu einem Gesamtkunstwerk vereint werden. Zwar auch schön, aber nun mal nicht nur ein einziger Baum wie hier.

Auch in der Nacht ist es hier einmalig, die großen Christbaumkugeln, das beleuchtete Weihnachtsbaum und das gesamte Center, das aussieht wie gestapelte Geschenke mit einer riesigen Schleife  –  Das gibt es nur in den USA!

 

Kapitel 03   - Vorweihnachtszeit in Long Beach

Da wir es zuvor noch nie an den unteren Zipfel on Los Angeles geschafft hatten, ging es nach Long Beach. Geplant war der Besuch der Queen Marry, einem Luxusdampfer des letzten Jahrhunderts, der dort nun als Museum und Hotel vor Anker liegt.

Danach ging es auf die andere Seite des hier recht breiten Los Angeles River direkt nach Long Beach hinein. Fährt Ihr etwas herum findet Ihr in Strand und Kanal-Nähe einige schöne Weihnachtshäuser, wie Ihr sicher auf den Bildern gut sehen könnt.

Natürlich erbrachten wir auch einen Tag am Strand, warum denn nicht, bei den sommerlichen Temperaturen 😉

Kapitel 04   - Noch etwas Kultur zum Schluss

Okay, auch wenn es nicht ganz passt haben wir noch etwas Kultur im Programm.

In der Nähe des LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art) findet sich das berühmte “Urban Light”, eine Freiluft Skulptur. Hier finden sich 202 historische Straßenlaternen aus den 20ern und 30ern nach Größe sortiert. Die Laternen kommen nicht vor irgendwo, sondern standen zuvor in Los Angeles selbst.

Ein ganz besonderer Bort, vor allem am Abend und in der Nacht, wenn der Platz leer ist.

Geht man die Straße etwas weiter entlang, findet man etwas, dass einem doch recht bekannt und gleichzeitig auch befremdlich für den Ort vorkommt. Vor einem Hochhaus, das neben dem Sundance Institute auch den Creative Circle  beheimatet, steht ein echtes Teilstück der Berliner Mauer.

Die 10 Original Segmente wurden 2009 im Auftrag des “Wende Museum of the cold War” in Culver City, Los Angeles von Künstlern gestaltet, die auch bereits an der berühmten East-Side Gallery mitgearbeitet haben. Ziel war es ein Stück der Partnerstadt Berlin nach Los Angeles zu bringen und das Andenken an den 09. November 1989 aufrecht zu erhalten.

Wir wünschen Euch einen schönen
3. Advent und Worldwide Candle Lightning

Auch bei sommerlichen Temperaturen kann Weihnachtsstimmung aufkommen, vor allem bei der Pracht an Weihnachtsbäumen und Lichtern.

Zum Schluss fliegt der Weihnachtsmann nochmal durch Beverly Hills!

Kontraste - Der Weihnachtsmann fliegt über Beverly Hills - Das ist Christmas in Los Angeles!

Sharing is caring

macht Euren Freunden eine Freude und teilt diesen Beitrag :-)

Auf facebook teilen
Auf twitter teilen
Auf pinterest teilen
Auf whatsapp teilen
Auf email teilen
0 0 Bewertung
Hat Dir dieser Beitrag gefallen?
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
0 Kommentare
Inline Feedbacks
Zeige alle Kommentare
0
Dir gefällts oder Du hast na Frage? Nutze die Kommentar Funktion!x
()
x